The airport in the Hanseatic City of Hamburg is proud to carry the name of Helmut Schmidt, in honour of Hamburg’s most famous son of the 20th century. Who was he, this “man of the century”, born here in 1918, who despite growing up during the scourge of National Socialism, went on to become a Chancellor driven by a firm belief in European cooperation? An exhibition in Terminal 2 provides an overview of the life and work of Helmut Schmidt. Here is a short summary:

The Statesman

From 1974 until 1982, Hamburg’s Helmut Schmidt was the Chancellor of the Federal German Republic. During his time in office, he oversaw the consequences of the 1970s oil crisis with its severe repercussions for the global economy, new approaches to international cooperation in global policies, the terrorist attacks by radical leftist group known as the RAF and the debate surrounding the NATO double-track decision in 1979. His political efforts were always driven by his profound belief that cooperation between European states was the means to guarantee a peaceful future, as he sought to create an understanding in Germany of its neighbouring countries.

 


Hamburg Citizen

With his straight talking demeanour that sometimes bordered on abrupt, Helmut Schmidt was for many the typical Hanseatic man. He was closely bound to the city of his birth through his life. As the Senator for Interior Affairs he made a name for himself as a crisis manager across the Federal German Republic during the great floods of February 1962. His opinions on global events and political matters in the public discourse were widely sought right up until his death, particularly as a co-publisher of the Hamburg weekly news publication, DIE ZEIT.

 


Airport Neighbour

Helmut Schmidt and his wife Hannelore “Loki” and their daughter Susanne moved to Hamburg-Langenhorn in 1961. He remained a neighbour of Hamburg Airport until his death, thus staying true to the city of his birth despite the allures of the Chancellor’s residence in Bonn. Several foreign heads of state were guests in his semi-detached home in the north of Hamburg – making Hamburg Airport at times a sort of second official national airport during the 1970’s.

 


Aviation in Hamburg

At the beginning of the 1950s, as the head of the Department of Transport in Hamburg, Helmut Schmidt lay the foundations for what would become one of the major aviation locations worldwide, providing employment for approximately 40,000 employees of 300 companies large and small across the region. He became a member of the Airbus Germany supervisory board in 1990, and an honorary Chairman of the supervisory board for Hamburg Airport in 1991.

Hamburg Airport Helmut Schmidt

Der Flughafen der Hansestadt ist stolz auf den Namenszusatz, mit dem er einen der größten Hamburger Söhne des 20. Jahrhunderts ehrt. Wer war Helmut Schmidt, dieser „Jahrhundertmann“, der 1918 hier geboren wurde, während des Nationalsozialismus heranwuchs und später als Bundeskanzler aus tiefer Überzeugung für die europäische Zusammenarbeit warb? Im Terminal 2 informiert eine Ausstellung über das Leben und Wirken von Helmut Schmidt. Hier finden Sie eine kurze Zusammenfassung:

Der Staatsmann

Von 1974 bis 1982 war der Hamburger Helmut Schmidt Kanzler der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. In seine Kanzlerschaft fielen beispielsweise die Folgen der Ölkrise der 1970er mit ihren schweren Nachklängen für die Weltökonomie, neue Ansätze zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit in der Wirtschaftspolitik, Anschläge der RAF und die Debatten um den NATO-Doppelbeschluss. Schmidts politisches Streben war von der tiefen Überzeugung geprägt, dass die Zusammenarbeit der Staaten Europas Garant für eine friedliche Zukunft sei. Bei den Deutschen wollte er Verständnis für die Nachbarn des Landes schaffen.


Der Hamburger Bürger

Mit seiner klaren Sprache und geradlinigen, manchmal knorrigen Art galt Helmut Schmidt vielen als typischer Hanseat. Seiner Heimatstadt war er zeitlebens eng verbunden. Als Hamburger Innensenator machte er sich während der großen Sturmflut im Februar 1962 bundesweit einen Namen als Krisenmanager. Bis zu seinem Tod blieb Helmut Schmidts Meinung zum Weltgeschehen und zu politischen Themen im öffentlichen Diskurs gefragt, unter anderem als Mit-Herausgeber der in Hamburg erscheinenden Wochenzeitung DIE ZEIT.


Der Flughafennachbar

1961 zieht Helmut Schmidt mit Ehefrau Hannelore „Loki“ und Tochter Susanne nach Hamburg-Langenhorn – und bleibt bis zu seinem Tode ein Nachbar von Hamburg Airport. Seiner Heimatstadt ist er so, trotz Kanzlerbungalow in Bonn, auch als Kanzler treu. Verschiedentlich sind Staatsoberhäupter zu Gast im Doppelhaus im Norden Hamburgs. Gelegentlich macht Helmut Schmidt Hamburg Airport damit in den 1970ern zu einer Art zweitem Staatsflughafen.

 


Die Luftfahrt – Aviation in Hamburg

Als Leiter des Amts für Verkehr legt Helmut Schmidt bereits Anfang der 1950er den Grundstein für den Erfolg des heutigen Luftfahrtstandorts Hamburg, für den heute etwa 40.000 Fachkräfte in rund 300 großen und kleinen Unternehmen in der Metropolregion tätig sind. Helmut Schmidt wird 1990 Mitglied im ersten Aufsichtsrat von Airbus Deutschland. Am Hamburg Airport ist er von 1991 an Ehrenvorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats.