Hamburg Airport wins coveted title of "Best Airport Europe"

Hamburg Airport wins coveted title of "Best Airport Europe"

Hamburg Airport honoured as Europe’s best airport in 10-25 million passenger category at ACI Best Airport Awards 2018 in Brussels.

20.06.2018 -

Hamburg Airport once again bears the title “Best Airport Europe” — a title it already held in 2012 and 2013. Northern Germany’s largest airport prevailed over competitors from all over the continent in the 10-25 million passenger category at the highly regarded ACI Europe Best Airport Awards. Hamburg Airport won through in many core areas (including customer service, accessibility, safety and the environment). The ACI jury particularly valued Hamburg Airport’s strong focus on environmental protection and the transparent dialog with the general public and the airport’s neighbours.

he award was presented yesterday at a formal gala dinner on the occasion of the 28th ACI Europe General Assembly in Brussels. Michael Eggenschwiler, CEO of Hamburg Airport, received the prize in front of an audience of 800 leading figures from the industrial and aviation sectors. A distinguished jury of independent experts, including representatives of EUROCONTROL, the European Civil Aviation Conference, and the Director General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission, selected Europe’s best airport in each of four different categories (1-5 million passengers, 5-10 million passengers, 10-25 million passengers, and more than 25 million passengers).

"It is a great honour to receive this important prize for the third time. For even though Hamburg Airport has been here at this site for more than 107 years, it is very important to us — as a modern, inner-urban airport — to keep dialog going and to take responsibility in and for the region: as a major employer, as a service provider, and also as a neighbour. We are therefore particularly delighted that our transparent neighbourhood communication and our environmental work were amongst the factors that won us this prestigious award,” said Michael Eggenschwiler after the ceremony.

Hamburg Airport is committed to serving the local community. Alongside regular events, info tours and an established Community Relations Office, there is also an airport newspaper for the region — first published 20 years ago. Hamburg Airport also invests in noise protection beyond the legally mandated requirements. A total of around 40 million euros have flowed into Noise Protection Programmes for the region. The activities of the Environmental Management Centre are diverse, ranging from reducing CO2 emissions within the airport’s scope of influence to protecting endangered species. Most vehicles acquired for use on the airport premises, for example, are powered with alternative fuels, and the airport is active in the protection of communal bees.

In March this year, Hamburg Airport already won the Skytrax Award in the “Best Regional Airport Europe” category. The Skytrax Award was presented to Hamburg as best airport on the basis of an independent survey of primarily domestic and European passengers, with some intercontinental passengers also involved.

About ACI Europe

ACI (Airport Council International) Europe represents the interests of more than 500 airports in 45 European nations. The member airports handle around 90 percent of commercial air traffic in Europe, welcoming more than 2 billion passengers every year. The ACI Europe Best Airport Awards were presented for the 14th time in 2018.

 

Contact



Stefanie Harder

Stefanie Harder

Head of Communications and Service


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 10

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: sharder@ham.airport.de

Katja Bromm

Katja Bromm

Head of Press and Public Relations, Spokesperson


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 15

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: kbromm@ham.airport.de

Janet Niemeyer

Janet Niemeyer

Manager Press and Public Relations, Spokesperson


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 80

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: jniemeyer@ham.airport.de

Karen Stein

Karen Stein

Assistant Press and Public Relations


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 11

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: kstein@ham.airport.de

Karin Dannel

Karin Dannel

Manager Press and Public Relations


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 16

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: kdannel@ham.airport.de

Antonia Kruse

Antonia Kruse

Manager Press and Public Relations


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 23

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: akruse@ham.airport.de

Florian Zastrow

Florian Zastrow

Manager Digital Communications and Social Media


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 34 03

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: ttost@ham.airport.de

Aileen Scherff

Aileen Scherff

Junior Manager Press and Public Relations


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 30 02

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: ascherff@ham.airport.de

Alina Holly-Peters
Sebastian Lauwerth

Sebastian Lauwerth

Manager Political Communications


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 39 50

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: slauwerth@ham.airport.de

Janina Rautenstrauch

Janina Rautenstrauch

Manager Political Communications


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 71

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: jrautenstrauch@ham.airport.de

Christoffer Feldtmann

Christoffer Feldtmann

Manager Press and Public Relations


Phone: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 25 87

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

Email: cfeldtmann@ham.airport.de

Hamburg Airport erhält renommierten Titel „Best Airport Europe“

Hamburg Airport erhält renommierten Titel „Best Airport Europe“

Hamburger Flughafen bei ACI Best Airport Awards 2018 in Brüssel als Europas bester Flughafen in der Kategorie 10-25 Millionen Passagiere ausgezeichnet

20.06.2018 -

Nach 2012 und 2013 darf Hamburg Airport erneut den Titel „Best Airport Europe“ tragen. In der Kategorie 10-25 Millionen Passagiere setzte sich Norddeutschlands größter Flughafen bei den anerkannten ACI Europe Best Airport Awards gegen Mitbewerber aus ganz Europa durch. Hamburg Airport punktete in vielen Kernbereichen (darunter Kundenservice, Barrierefreiheit, Sicherheit und Umwelt). Insbesondere der starke Fokus des Hamburger Flughafens auf Umweltschutz sowie einen transparenten Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit und den Nachbarn des Flughafens wurde von der unabhängigen ACI-Jury ausgezeichnet.

Verliehen wurde der Award gestern Abend im Rahmen eines festlichen Gala-Dinners anlässlich der 28. ACI Europe Generalversammlung in Brüssel. Vor 800 Führungspersönlichkeiten der Industrie- und Luftverkehrsbranche nahm Michael Eggenschwiler, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung am Hamburg Airport, den Preis entgegen. Eine renommierte Jury aus unabhängigen Experten – bestehend unter anderem aus Vertretern von EUROCONTROL, der Europäischen Zivilluftfahrt-Konferenz ECAC sowie der Generaldirektion Mobilität und Transport der EU-Kommission – hatte die jeweils besten Flughäfen Europas in vier verschiedenen Kategorien (1-5 Mio. Passagiere, 5-10 Mio. Passagiere, 10-25 Mio. Passagiere und über 25 Mio. Passagiere) ausgewählt.

„Es ist eine große Ehre, dass uns dieser wichtige Preis bereits zum dritten Mal verliehen wurde. Denn auch wenn es den Hamburger Flughafen schon seit über 107 Jahren an diesem Standort gibt: Als moderner, stadtnaher Flughafen ist es uns besonders wichtig, im Dialog nicht nachzulassen und Verantwortung in der Region zu übernehmen – als großer Arbeitgeber, als Dienstleister, aber auch als Nachbar. Es freut uns daher ganz besonders, dass wir diese renommierte Auszeichnung unter anderem für unsere transparente Nachbarschaftskommunikation und Umweltarbeit erhalten“, sagte Michael Eggenschwiler nach der Preisverleihung.

Hamburg Airport setzt sich engagiert für seine Nachbarschaft ein. Neben regelmäßigen Veranstaltungen, Info-Touren und einem festen Nachbarschaftsbüro erscheint seit 20 Jahren eine eigene Flughafen-Zeitung in der Region. Über die gesetzlichen Anforderungen hinaus investiert der Hamburger Flughafen außerdem in den Schallschutz: Insgesamt rund 40 Millionen Euro flossen allein in Lärmschutzprogramme für die Region. Das Engagement im Umweltbereich ist breit gefächert – es reicht von der Reduzierung der CO²-Emmissionen im Einflussbereich des Flughafens bis hin zum Artenschutz. So werden auf dem Flughafengelände beispielsweise vorwiegend Fahrzeuge mit alternativen Antrieben angeschafft und der Wildbienenschutz aktiv gefördert.

Im März dieses Jahres hat der Hamburger Flughafen bereits den Skytrax Award in der Kategorie „Best Regional Airport Europe“ gewonnen. Bei der Preisverleihung des Skytrax Awards wurde Hamburg Airport auf der Grundlage unabhängiger Passagierbefragungen zum besten Flughafen mit vorrangig nationalen und kontinentalen, aber auch mit einigen interkontinentalen Flügen, ausgezeichnet.

Über ACI Europe

ACI (Airport Council International) Europe vertritt die Interessen von über 500 Airports in 45 europäischen Ländern. Die Mitglieder-Airports sorgen für die Abwicklung von rund 90 Prozent des kommerziellen Luftverkehrs in Europa und begrüßen jährlich über 2 Milliarden Fluggäste. Die ACI Europe Best Airport Awards wurden 2018 bereits zum 14. Mal ausgelobt.

Ansprechpartner für Journalisten/Medien



Stefanie Harder

Stefanie Harder

Leiterin Unternehmenskommunikation und Service


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 10

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: sharder@ham.airport.de

Katja Bromm

Katja Bromm

Leiterin Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Pressesprecherin


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 15

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: kbromm@ham.airport.de

Janet Niemeyer

Janet Niemeyer

Pressesprecherin


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 80

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: jniemeyer@ham.airport.de

Karen Stein

Karen Stein

Assistenz Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 11

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: kstein@ham.airport.de

Karin Dannel

Karin Dannel

Referentin Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 16

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: kdannel@ham.airport.de

Antonia Weiser

Antonia Weiser

Referentin Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 23

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: aweiser@ham.airport.de

Aileen Scherff

Aileen Scherff

Referentin Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 5075 - 30 02

Fax: +49 (0) 40/50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: ascherff@ham.airport.de

Jennifer Pott

Jennifer Pott

Digital Communication Manager


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 19 45

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: jpott@ham.airport.de

Florian Zastrow

Florian Zastrow

Referent Digitale Medien und Social Media


Tel.: +49 (0) 40 / 5075 - 3403

Fax: +49 (0) 40 / 50 75 - 36 22

E-Mail: fzastrow@ham.airport.de

Alina Holly-Peters